The School of Governmental and Social Sciences comprises of the following departments; Public Management, Political and Conflict Studies and Sociology, Anthropology including History. The Department of Public Management and Leadership is committed to developing knowledge and skills to produce graduates who meet the requirements of professional public service as espoused in the National Development Plan. 

Research niche areas of the Department of Political and Conflict Studies include democratisation and governance, conflict resolution and deep-rooted conflict in Africa as well as community organisational and societal conflict management and transformation. Research in the Department of Sociology and Anthropology including History seeks insight into the human dynamic as individuals as well as collective groups within various societies.